USCA Judges Committee Recommendation for Level 3 Dog Aggression Sanction

EB #31-15

Motion: By Nathaniel Roque,  USCA Director of Judges, seconded by Mark Chaffin, Mid Central Regional Director, to support the USCA Judges Committee recommendation Under the “USCA Dog Aggression Policy “ to impose a  Level 3 Aggression sanction against the Rottweiler dog  “Gunther Duke von Schoenfelden ” USCA Scorebook # 46464, owned by Mr. Keith Paul, USCA membership# 12897, due to unprovoked incident of aggression at a USCA event (North Central Regional Championship) as well as a previous aggression incident and injury by bite to a USCA Member.

Background summary:  Based on the USCA Aggression Policy at the decision of the Director of Judges, a first or second time incident may be escalated to a more severe level of sanction if the DOJ believes that the dog involved is dangerous or unstable. The report of this incident and the judge’s strong recommendation to ban this dog because it is “dangerous” both in the recent incident (displaying handler aggression, aggression in its crate, etc.) and in followup reports and interview of a USCA Member that had been seriously bitten at a training session by this dog approximately 2 years ago (but went unreported until now) as well as a phone call and conversation with the owner by the Assistant Director of Judges,    All of these incidents lead to the decision that this is a dangerous dog that should not be involved in USCA events as it presents a risk to the public, membership and judges.

After review by the Judges Committee and unanimous vote was taken, the Judges Committee recommends a Level 3 sanction. Lifetime Ban.

Additional information from the reports / complaints may be made available confidentially if needed.


Nathaniel Roque
Director of Judges – United Schutzhund C lubs of America (USCA)
USCA – Working / Performance Dog Judge # 30,


19 YES (Jim Alloway, Frank Phillips, Sean O’Kane, Carolyn Daniel, Michele Scarberry, Nathaniel Roque, Mike Diehl, Dennis Vander Linde, Laurie Copolla, Ron Fox, Jennifer Acevedo, Carissa Kuehn, Mark chaffin, Pedro Jimenez, Gail Kendall, Dena McGowan, Hal Lymus, Mark Scarberry, Don Yelle)

 1 NO Response  (Chris Thompson)